Order #388, June 8, 2009, Tbilisi, Order of President of Georgia - on required activities for forming Georgian State Constitution Commission

In order to prepare draft of the constitutional law according to the demands of article 102 of the Georgian Constitution on "Amendments of constitution":

1. Georgian State Constitution Commission to be formed (further mentioned as Commission).

2. The full professor of Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University Avtandil Demetrashvili to be appointed as the Chairman of Commission.

3. The Chairman of Commission to present the decree by June 14, 2009 for approval.

4. In order to participate in the work of the Commission:

4.1. Following political parties have the right to nominate one candidate to the Chairman of the Commission:

a) National Movement Party

b) Christian-Democratic Movement

c) Labor Party;

d) Georgian Troupe;

e) On Our Own;

f) Republican Party;

g) Conservative Party;

h) Industry will Save Georgia;

i) New Rights;

j) Georgia's Way;

k) Party of People;

l) Movement for United Georgia;

m) National Forum;

n) Party of Freedom;

o) National-Democratic Party

p) Georgian Democratic Party

q) Movement for Fair Georgia;

r) Alliance for Georgia

s) Democratic Movement - United Georgia

t) Georgian Women's Party for Justice and Equality and Traditionalists Union of Georgia

4.2. The state entities and officials envisaged by the Constitution of Georgia must present to the Chairman of the Commission the list of the candidates in a written form:

a) President of Georgia - 3 members

b) Parliament of Georgia - 3 members

c) Government of Georgia - 3 members

d) Supreme Council of Justice - 1 member

e) Supreme Court - 1 member

f) Constitutional Court - 1 member

g) Chamber of Control - 1 member

h) National Bank of Georgia - 1 member

i) Public Defender - 1 member

4.3 One candidate is required to be presented in the Commission in a written form:

a) Supreme Council of Abkhazian Autonomous Republic;

b) Supreme Council of Adjara Autonomous Republic;

c) Temporary administration of the former South Ossetian Autonomous District

4.4. Following NGOs are required to present one candidate in the Commission in a written form:

a) Georgian Young Lawyers' Association;

b) Fair Elections;

c) New Generation-New Initiative;

d) ALPE Foundation;

e) Liberty Institute;

f) UN Association of Georgia;

g) Transparency International-Georgia;

h) Article 42 of Constitution;

i) Caucasus Institute for Peace.

5. The list of the candidates envisaged by paragraph 4 must be presented to the Chairman of the Commission by June 20, 2009.

6. The following representatives of the academic circles must be invited in the Commission:

Levan Aleksidze, a professor of international law at the Tbilisi State University

Gia Getsadze, a legal expert;

Vasil Gonashvili, legal expert;

Giorgi Kakhiani, assistant professor at TSU;

Giorgi Kverenchkhiladze - doctor of political sciences; associated professor at TSU

Malkhaz Matsaberidze, professor at TSU; doctor of legal sciences;

Zaza Rukhadze - doctor of legal sciences; professor at the Georgian-American University;

Iakob Putkaradze, professor of constitutional law

Kakhi Kurashvili, doctor of law;

Nana Chigladze, doctor of law, full professor of TSU

Zurab Jibgashvili from TSU.

Davit Aprasidze, professor at the Ilia Chavchavadze University

Ketevan Kokrashvili, doctor of legal sciences;

Soso Tsintsadze, professor; rector of the Georgian Diplomatic Academy, doctor of hystorial sciences;

Zaza Bibilashvili, a lawyer;

Marina Garishvili, associated professor, lawyer;

Mzia Lekveishvili, professor at TSU, doctor of legal sciences;

Prof. Dr. Ghia Nodia, director of International School of Caucasus Studies

Tornike Gordadze, doctor of political sciences;

Zurab Davitashvili, doctor of political sciences; full Professor TSU.

7. The state institutions and organizations to support the Commission in carrying out the preparatory work concerning the draft of the constitutional law.

8. Georgian government must resolve all necessary financial and material-technical issues due to the demands of the Chairman of the Commission. Mikheil Saakashvili

Press Office
of the President of Georgia

Send link to the email
Captcha* Verification Code
2013 (11)
2012 (12)
2011 (12)
2010 (11)
2009 (11)
2008 (12)
2007 (12)
2006 (9)
2005 (11)